RSS Feed

Pin # 20: Spaghetti Squash! Yes, There is Such a Thing!

 

image

This is a very easy recipe, especially if you take a few shortcuts with the original pinned recipe!

The original recipe calls for fresh ingredients to make the meatballs but I opted for my, nearly free, frozen turkey meatballs from a recent Southern Savers shopping trip to Publix!

Here’s what I did to prepare this delicious, healthy (I hope) meal:

I sprayed the crockpot interior with Pam, added the frozen meatballs and then a jar of my favorite marinara (also nearly free)!

I washed the spaghetti squash , cut it in half and scooped out the seeds. I put the halves, cut side down, into the crockpot on top of the meatballs and cooked it all on low for 6 hours.

I took the squash halves out and shredded the insides into spaghetti and then discarded the shells.   I must admit that I really enjoy seeing the squash come apart into little spaghetti strands. I wonder if I can grow them in my garden this year?

Finally, the squash was topped with the meatballs and sauce!  Easy and yummy!

I think this is fairly healthy too even with the prepared meatballs.  Next time I’ll  try to make my own!

Maybe during the next snow day!

2 responses »

  1. Yummy! I’ll have to talk to Johnny about cooking with spaghetti squash 🙂 sounds fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. whatnumbersinyourbucket

    I bet he could come up with something really delicious!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

