RSS Feed

Pin #29: I’m sorry weeds!

before

Weeds seem to grow no matter what the conditions!  Rain-No Rain-Sun-No Sun!  It just doesn’t matter.  They crop up everywhere!

Since I’m not a big fan of poisons (Sorry Round-Up), I wanted to try something more natural.  I was skeptical, at first, wondering how vinegar, salt, and dishwashing liquid could possibly cure the weed problem!  I found this pin for a natural weed killer and decided to try it out!

The picture above shows an example of a typical weed invader!  Cracks in sidewalks seem to cry out for some greenery and the weeds are happy to oblige.

I followed the directions carefully and mixed up the solution.  I decorated the spray bottle which isn’t really necessary but seemed important at the time.

After one day and one application, this is what those little invaders look like now!

after weed killer

For those of you who worry about your pets (I’m definitely one of them), I did Google the effect of apple cider vinegar on dogs and found that it is actually beneficial.  I can’t say the same for the Dawn dish liquid that is added to the mixture, but since it is such a small amount, I’m not worried!

If you are overrun with weeds, mix up a batch of this non-poisonous weed killer and be kind to the environment, your pets, and your wallet!  Vinegar is a lot cheaper than Round Up!

One response »

  1. “I decorated the spray bottle which isn’t really necessary but seemed important at the time.” My favorite part of this blog post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

